We are updating our free plan on November 1st, here’s everything you need to know.
What Is Changing?
Starting November 1st, 2023, the free plan will include up to 3 Boards (personal and received) that will be marked as "active" Boards. On these Boards, it will be possible to share, edit, add content, and more, just like now (depending on the Board permissions).
How Does This Affect Free Plan Users?
If you have more than 3 Boards, here is what you can expect:
- On your first login to Boards after November 1st, you will be able to choose to activate up to 3 existing Boards or to create new ones. You can also upgrade to the business plan to get unlimited Boards.
- Boards you don't activate will remain inactive and in their current location. You will be able to access these Boards, copy content, and receive messages (depending on the Board’s permissions), but you won’t be able to view and edit the content, invite new members, or share content from those Boards.
- Can my team access the Boards I shared with them?
All your team members will maintain full access to your Boards’ content if they have fewer than 3 Boards or a business subscription. If a team member has more than 3 Boards, we suggest that you make sure they activate your team Board(s) so they don’t lose access to it.
However, all members of your Board(s) will continue to receive Board messages, even if the Board is marked as inactive. We highly recommend sharing this FAQ page with your team and advising them to activate your team boards after November 1st. This step ensures continuity in access and team alignment.
- Can I switch between active Boards?
No, once you have 3 active Boards on the free plan, you can either upgrade to the business plan or remove/leave one of your active Boards to activate another from the inactive ones.
- Will this update affect my content safety?
All of your Boards will stay available on your Boards list - even if you can’t use all their features. As always, the security of your content is our highest priority. Content from all your Boards will remain secure and safe as always and will not be deleted or compromised.
- I have more than 3 boards, can I keep them all active?
To continue enjoying the full power of Boards, and keep sharing and editing all of your Boards, we suggest upgrading to the business plan, which includes advanced tools built for businesses like yours.
- Is the Boards app still free?
Absolutely! Our free plan is designed for those taking the first steps in building their business, while the business plan provides professionals with enhanced capabilities and benefits.
- What is the difference between “active” and “inactive” Boards?
In the free plan, an “active” Board is a Board that has the full set of functionalities, like you have now: adding and editing content, sharing content, inviting members, sending messages, etc.
Inactive Boards: you will be able to access the Boards, copy content, and receive messages (depending on the Board’s permissions). However, you won’t be able to view and edit the content, invite new members, or share content from those Boards.
- If I have the business plan, will my Boards be active for my team members?
Boards subscriptions are personal. Team members with more than 3 Boards should activate the team Board(s) as one of their 3 active Boards, or upgrade to Boards Business from their own account, to have access to all of their Boards.
- I’m on the Boards Business plan, does this affect me?
Not at all! The business plan does not limit the number of active Boards.
- Why are you updating the free plan?
We are continuously working on developing powerful, innovative tools and improving Boards for the benefit of your business performance. This plan update will help us keep doing this.